Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Frequently Used Words In YA Book Titles

If you haven't noticed, I mostly read YA fantasy. And there are almost waves of types of titles. For example, it feels like everything right now is The Something of Things and Whatsit. But there are definitely words that crop up time and again. So let's do this. Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by Jana @ That … Continue reading Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Frequently Used Words In YA Book Titles

Advertisements

Book Review: Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao

An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl's quest to become Empress--and the darkness she must unleash to achieve her destiny. Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the … Continue reading Book Review: Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao

Top Ten Thursday: Books I Think My Brother Should Read

I'm sorry! I'm sorry! It's not Tuesday, but at least the alliteration is still there! (Although I'm actually writing this on Wednesday, but deal with it.) My life has just been very interesting over the past weekend (which is usually when I write by TTT posts), so I've been behind. (I swear, I'm living in … Continue reading Top Ten Thursday: Books I Think My Brother Should Read

Book Review: Purple Hearts by Michael Grant

New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant unleashes the gritty and powerful conclusion to the Front Line series and evokes the brutal truth of World War II: War is hell. An epic tale of historical reimagining, perfect for fans of Code Name Verity and Salt to the Sea. Courage, sacrifice, and fear have lead Rio, Frangie, and Rainy through front-line … Continue reading Book Review: Purple Hearts by Michael Grant

Top Ten Tuesday: Characters That Were Better Than Their Books

Sometimes characters deserve better than the books they're in. They're great, but the book around them is just fine. That's what we're talking about today. The actual Top Ten Tuesday prompt is "Characters I Liked That Were In Non-Favourite/Disliked Books", but I like my version better. Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by Jana @ That Artsy … Continue reading Top Ten Tuesday: Characters That Were Better Than Their Books

Book Review: Gunslinger Girl by Lyndsay Ely

Seventeen-year-old Serendipity "Pity" Jones inherited two things from her mother: a pair of six shooters and perfect aim. She's been offered a life of fame and fortune in Cessation, a glittering city where lawlessness is a way of life. But the price she pays for her freedom may be too great.... In this extraordinary debut … Continue reading Book Review: Gunslinger Girl by Lyndsay Ely